The sixteenth edition of the Untamed African Mountain Bike Race boasts an exceptional elite field filled with World, National and Continental champions, in addition to ten previous winners of the Absa Cape Epic. The elite men’s field is spear headed by defending champions Jaroslav Kulhavý and Howard Grotts with the reigning XCO World and Olympic champion Nino Schurter intent on dethroning them. In the elite women’s race, the presence of road cycling’s star attraction Anna van der Breggen alongside four-time champion Annika Langvad has fans wondering if even Ariane Lüthi and Maja Włoszczowska will be able to beat the Investec-songo-Specialized pairing.

To read about each of the teams, as well as their aspirations and chances for the 2019 Absa Cape Epic click on the link next to their team names.

Can Jaroslav Kulhavy and Howard Grotts defend their title? Photo by Greg Beadle | Absa Cape Epic | SPORTPICS

Listen as Oliver Munnik and Seamus Allardice discuss the 2019 Elite Field


2019 Absa Cape Epic Elite Men’s Field

Team Name Story Link Rider Number Rider Name Country
Investec Songo Specialized 1 Click Here 1-1 Jaroslav Kulhavy Czech Republic
1-2 Howard Grotts USA
BULLS 1 Click Here 2-1 Karl Platt Germany
2-2 Alban Lakata Austria
Cannondale Factory Racing Click Here 3-1 Manuel Fumic Germany
3-2 Henrique Avancini Brazil
SCOTT-SRAM Click Here 4-1 Nino Schurter Switzerland
4-2 Andri Frischknecht Switzerland
Vitalo – Future Cycling Click Here 5-1 Kristian Hynek Czech Republic
5-2 Petter Fagerhaug Norway
BULLS 2 Click Here 6-1 Urs Huber Switzerland
6-2 Simon Stiebjahn Germany
PYGA Euro Steel Click Here 7-1 Philip Buys South Africa
7-2 Matthys Beukes South Africa
Silverback SBC Click Here 8-1 Nicola Rohrbach Switzerland
8-2 Konny Looser Switzerland
Centurion Vaude 1 Click Here 9-1 Daniel Geismayr Austria
9-2 Jochen Käß Germany
Trek Selle San Marco 1 Click Here 10-1 Damiano Ferraro Italy
10-2 Samuele Porro Italy
BUFF SCOTT MTB Click Here 11-1 Francesc Guerra Carretero Spain
11-2 Enrique Morcillo Vergara Spain
DSV-SCOTT-SRAM Click Here 12-1 Gert Heyns South Africa
12-2 Lars Forster Switzerland
Specialized Foundation Click Here 13-1 Alan Hatherly South Africa
13-2 Sam Gaze New Zealand
Kross Racing Team Click Here 14-1 Sergio Mantecón Gutiérrez Spain
14-2 Ondřej Cink Czech Republic
NAD MTB Click Here 15-1 Nico Bell South Africa
15-2 Matt Beers South Africa
Trek Selle San Marco 2 Click Here 16-1 Fabian Rabensteiner Italy
16-2 Michele Casagrande Italy
BULLS 3 Click Here 17-1 Martin Frey Germany
17-2 Simon Schneller Germany
Wilier Bakker Racing Click Here 18-1 Erwin Bakker Netherlands
18-2 David Nordemann Netherlands
CST Sandd Click Here 19-1 Sebastien Fini Denmark
19-2 Martins Blums Latvia
Investec Songo Specialized 2 Click Here 20-1 Christoph Sauser Switzerland
20-2 Simon Andreassen Denmark
T°RED FACTORY RACING 21-1 Alessandro Petacchi Italy
21-2 Francesco Chicchi Italy
Shimano Aus Click Here 22-1 Brendan Johnston Australia
22-2 Cameron Ivory Australia
SPOT Africa 23-1 Timothy Hammond South Africa
23-2 Jan Schaer Switzerland
Centurion Vaude 2 Click Here 24-1 Tristan de Lange Namibia
24-2 Vinzent Dorn Germany
7C CBZ Wilier 1 Click Here 25-1 Louis Meija Columbia
25-2 Johnny Cattaneo Italy
Pro Devonbosch Qhubeka Click Here 26-1 Frans Claes Belgium
26-2 Hendrik (HB) Kruger South Africa
KTM Pro Click Here 27-1 Manuel Pliem Austria
27-2 David Schöggl Austria
DSV Pro Click Here 28-1 Julian Jessop South Africa
28-2 Arno Du Toit South Africa
PYGA Euro Steel Click Here 29-1 Pieter du Toit South Africa
29-2 Phillimon Sebona South Africa
Orbea Factory Team 30-1 Aleix Espargaro Villa Spain
30-2 Ibon Zugasti Spain
MMR Factory Racing Team 31-1 David Valero Spain
31-2 Catriel Soto Argentina
7C CBZ Wilier 2 Click Here 32-1 Tony Longo Italy
32-2 Gregory Brenes Costa Rica
Ceska sporitelna-Accolade Click Here 33-1 Tomas Visnovsky Slovenia
33-2 Matouš Ulman Czech Republic
Madmacs Click Here 34-1 Charlie McFall South Africa
34-2 Matthew Keyser South Africa
IMBUKO Giant Click Here 35-1 Marco Joubert South Africa
35-2 Nicol Carstens South Africa
Darkhorse Wheels Click Here 36-1 Shaun-Nick Bester South Africa
36-2 Andrew Hill South Africa
Restonic 37-1 Craig Uria South Africa
37-2 Andrew Duvenage South Africa
Reynolds BlacklabelRacing 38-1 Julian Biefang Germany
38-2 Todd Tanner USA
ERG 1900 EV. 39-1 Sascha Weil Germany
39-2 Benjamin Weil Germany
Scott France 40-1 Jonathan Galante France
40-2 Anthony Collet-Beillon France
Tvert 42-1 Maxime Danon France
42-2 Benjamin Chavas France
Tbelles – ProtourBCN 43-1 Roberto Bou Martin Spain
43-2 Alberto Losada Spain
Ecuador 4X2 44-1 Galo Tamayo Ecuador
44-2 Jose Bernardo Vintimilla Corral Ecuador

Will anyone be able to stop Annika Langvad from retaining the Absa Cape Epic crown?
Photo by Ewald Sadie | Absa Cape Epic | SPORTZPICS


2019 Absa Cape Epic Elite Women’s Field

Team Name Story Link Rider Number Rider Name Country
Investec-Songo-Specialized Click Here 50-1 Annika Langvad Denmark
50-2 Anna van der Breggen Netherlands
Silverback – Fairtree Click Here 52-1 Jennie Stenerhag Sweden
52-2 Mariske Strauss South Africa
Kross-Spur Racing Click Here 53-1 Ariane Lüthi Switzerland
53-2 Maja Włoszczowska Poland
Summit Click Here 54-1 Candice Lill South Africa
54-2 Adelheid Morath Germany
dormakaba Ladies Click Here 55-1 Samantha Sanders South Africa
55-2 Amy McDougall South Africa
Galileo Risk Click Here 56-1 Theresa Ralph South Africa
56-2 Sarah Hill South Africa
Land Rover Jaguars 46-1 Hannele Steyn South Africa
46-2 Katja Steenkamp South Africa